Schoolboys Rugby: Australia Blitz Fiji In Tri-Nations Opener

[caption id="attachment_6102" align="aligncenter" width="650"]The Australian Schoolboys celebrate their win over Fiji Schools at Knox Grammar last Tuesday - Photo: The Australian Schoolboys celebrate their win over Fiji Schools at Knox Grammar last Tuesday

ARU Media Release -

The Gullivers Sports Travel Australian Schoolboys have launched their 2013 Macquarie Bank Schools Rugby Tri-Nations Series with a dominant 31-7 victory over Fijian Schools played in front of over 2000 delighted Rugby fans at Knox Grammar School in Sydney on Tuesday.

The result was even more impressive after the opening match which saw the Fijian Schools XV steal a shock 22-20 victory over New Zealand Schools at St Mary’s Leagues Stadium in western Sydney last Friday.

The young Australians crossed for five tries with St Josephs College flyhalf Andrew Deegan crossing for a double and landing three conversions.

The other tryscorers for Australia were Oakhill College lock Joshua Anderson, Scot’s College fullback (and vice-captain) Andrew Kellaway and Endeavour Sports High School backrower Rohboni Warren-Vosayaco.

[caption id="attachment_6095" align="aligncenter" width="650"]St Josephs College flyhalf Andrew Keegan scored 16 of the side's 31 points once he'd escaped the Fijians clutches - Photo: Once he'd escaped Fijian clutches, St Josephs College flyhalf Andrew Keegan
scored 16 of his side's 31 points - Photo:[/caption]

Australia A were less successful in their first match falling 36-0 to New Zealand Schools in the early match, with the young Kiwis clearly stung by their surprise loss to Fiji last week.

The Series continues at Knox this Saturday 5 October with Australia A against Fiji, followed by the highly anticipated final match between Australia and New Zealand.

Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Schools Rugby Union, Andrew Elliot said this year’s Series has already delivered some thrilling Rugby.

“The Fijian win over New Zealand last Friday evening has put everyone on notice. These are going to be very competitive and exciting Schoolboy internationals,” Mr Elliot said.

“We are going to see the best forty-six Australian Schoolboys representing their country, many for the first time, which is always special for both the players and their families.”

Members of the public are encouraged to support the Australian Schools teams during their Series campaign at Knox Grammar School. Entry is $5 for adults, with all proceeds going towards the Australian Schools Rugby Union.

This Saturday October 5th sees Australia A take on Fiji Schools at 3pm with the heavyweight clash between Gullivers Sports Travel Australian Schoolboys and New Zealand Schools kicking off at 5pm.

[caption id="attachment_6099" align="aligncenter" width="650"]Barker College winger/fullback Harry Jones glides through the Fijian defence - Photo: Barker College winger/fullback Harry Jones glides through the Fijian defence


MATCH 1: FIJI 22 (S Boletawa, R Laganikoro, S Nakailagi, L Nawai tries; M. Nakolilevu con) defeated New Zealand 20 (M. Karpik try; B. Garland try, 2 con, pen) at St Marys RL Stadium. CROWD: 1200

MATCH 2: NEW ZEALAND SCHOOLS 36 (S Chonkit, I Tamaki, N Apa, M Karpik tries, D McKenzie 2 tries 3 con) defeated AUSTRALIA A SCHOOLS 0

MATCH 3: AUSTRALIAN SCHOOLS 31 (J Anderson, A Kellaway, Rohboni Warren-Vosayaco tries, A Deegan 2 tries 3 con) defeated FIJIAN SCHOOLS 7 ( M Nakolilevu 1 try, 1 con) At Knox Grammar School. CROWD: 2000



1 Fereti Sa’aga (Thornbury HS, VIC); 2 Alex Mafi (St. Joseph’s Nudgee College, QLD); 3 Vunipola Fafita (Newington College, NSW); 4 Ned Hannigan (St. Joseph’s College, NSW); 5 Joshua Anderson (Oakhill College, NSW); 6 Jack McCalman © (The King’s School, NSW); 7 Brad Wilkin (Iona College, QLD); 8 Lolo Fakaosilea (St. Patrick’s College, QLD); 9 Mitchell Short (The Scot’s College, NSW); 10 Andrew Deegan (St. Joseph’s College, NSW); 11 Adrian Henley (Trinity Anglican School, Cairns, QLD); 12 Tepai Moeroa (Newington College, NSW); 13 Taane Milne (Newington College); 14 Henry Hutchison (St. Ignatius’ College, NSW); 15 Andrew Kellaway (VC) (The Scot’s College, NSW); 16 Evander Guttenbeil (The Southport School, QLD); 17 Connal McInerney (Erindale College, ACT); 18 Faaope Satiu (Trinity Grammar School, NSW); 19 Lachlan Cannell (Newington College, NSW); 20 Rohboni Warren-Vosayaco (Endeavour Sports HS, NSW); 21 Moses Sorovi (St. Peter’s Lutheran College, QLD); 22 Mitchell Third (The Southport School, QLD); 23 Harry Jones (Barker College, NSW)


Copyright © 2016 Rugby News. All rights reserved. | Web and Mobile Development by Simplex Software