2017 Australian U20s extended squad announced

Australia anthems-2

Australian U20s coach Simon Cron has named an extended training squad to attend a camp on the Gold Coast next month to begin preparations for this year's U20s World Championships in Georgia.

Cron has selected a preliminary squad of 48 players, who have impressed in the opening rounds of the Super U20s Championship, while it also contains four members of the Australian Men’s Sevens squad.

“This camp will be the first opportunity we have to get content across to our players, as well as skill evaluation and execution. It will be a high intensity camp and we need to tick the box on a lot of critical stuff," Cron said.

“We will be putting guys into different scenarios and seeing how they play as well as start to develop our culture and Identity as a group.

“The door is still open for players in the Super U20s Championship as we are always watching and looking for players who will suit the way we want to play the game.”

14 players from last year's campaign have been named in the squad, alongside Aussie 7s speedster Henry Hutchison who will get his first opportunity in the Australia U20s, after missing the 2016 season due to commitments with Sevens program.

Australia will host the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship on the Gold Coast against Fiji, Samoa and New Zealand, kicking off on April 28.

Australia U20s Extended Squad:


Harry Hoopert (QLD), Harry Johnson-Holmes (NSW), Cody Walker (NSW), Sham Vui (WA), Harry Chapman (NSW), Gavin Luka (QLD), Vaauli Faamausili (VIC), Angus Wagner (ACT), Jordan Uelese (Melbourne Rebels), Phil Bradford (NSW), Efi Maafu (QLD), Tom Horton (NSW), Harry Hockings (QLD), Angus Blyth (QLD), Ryan McCauley (NSW Waratahs), Esei Haangana (VIC), Darcy Swain (ACT), Angus Scott-Young (Queensland Reds), Max Girdler (NSW), Lachlan Swinton (NSW), Reece Hewat (QLD), Rob Leota (Melbourne Rebels), Rob Valetini (Brumbies), Liam Wright (QLD), Angus Allen (ACT), Brodie Leber (ACT)


Harrison Goddard (VIC), Harry Nucifora, (QLD), Ryan Lonergan (ACT), Theo Strang (NSW), Tate McDermott (Aussie 7s), Liam McNamara (Aussie 7s), Hamish Stewart (QLD), Nick Jooste (Brumbies), Tony Hunt (QLD), Sione Tuipulotu (Melbourne Rebels), Izaia Perese (Queensland Reds), Dylan Riley (Queensland Reds), Esere Chee Kam (NSW), Len Ikitau (ACT), Henry Hutchison (Aussie 7s), Simon Kennewell (Aussie 7s), Jayden Ngamanu (Queensland Reds), Angelo Leaupepe (VIC), Will Eadie (QLD), Jack Maddocks (Melbourne Rebels), Clay Uyen (WA), Semisi Tupou (VIC).

Copyright © 2016 Rugby News. All rights reserved. | Web and Mobile Development by Simplex Software